Lakewood OH
Partly cloudy

West Shore Conference postseason basketball awards (Area winners)

Lakewood's Shawn McDonald won the West Shore Conference boys basketball MVP honors behind his 19 points, 3.3 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 2.3 steals per game, while shooting 50 percent from the field and 40 percent from the 3-point line. Photo – Ryan Kaczmarski

Boys baskeball


MVP: Shawn McDonald – Lakewood


Coach of the Year: Phil Argento – Lakewood


First team All-WSC

Brian Kelly – Avon

John Koz – Bay

Wes Gerhardt – Lakewood

Nolan Freeman – North Ridgeville

Eric Jones – Rocky River




Second team All-WSC

Rex Sunahara – Bay

Logan Swift – Lakewood


Bay's John Koz earned first team All-WSC honors with 13.1 points and 5.0 rebounds per game this season. He tallied 301 points and 40 steals to lead the Rockets. Photo – Ryan Kaczmarski

Honorable mention

Jeff Laraway – Avon

Zack Tobert – Avon

Johnathon Brajdic – Bay

Danny Heideloff – Bay

Mike Angers – Lakewood

Jacob Schmidt – Lakewood

Matt Clark – North Ridgeville

Dennis Millgard – North Ridgeville

Bernard Frohnapple – Rocky River

Patrick Connors – Rocky River


Girls basketball


Coach of the Year: Mike Harper – Lakewood


First team All-WSC

Mackenzie Meckes – Avon

Madison Clause – Lakewood

Alyssa Riley – North Ridgeville

Isabella Pecchia – North Ridgeville

Nicole Popovich – Rocky River


Second team All-WSC

Sierra Davidson – Avon

Ryann Greenfield – Lakewood

Tori Milicevic – Lakewood

Andrea Chiviles – Rocky River


Honorable mention

Brianna Conroy – Avon

Alyssa Douzos – Avon

Nora Ziebarth – Bay

Rachel Jerome – Bay

Maggie Rowell – Lakewood

Kelly Wisniewoski – North Ridgeville

Leah Lindak – North Ridgeville

Lucy Grierson – Rocky River

Kara Johanson – Rocky River




RSS Syndication