Lakewood OH
Mostly cloudy

Rockets take third at WSC championships

Bay Village – North Ridgeville came from behind, led by 113-pound  Evan Collier and 120-pound Drew Dickson, to overtake Bay to win the West Shore Conference title held at Bay High School on Saturday.

North Ridgeville had three first-placers, two second-placers, three third-placers and two fourth-placers, placing 10 out of 14 weight classes. Drew Dickson showed his MVP-like talent in a tough-fought bout, winning 10-6 over the very talented Bay senior Adam Tepper.

Two upsets on Saturday night’s finals found Rocky River freshman standout Aaron Kelly avenging an earlier loss and pinning Bay’s Vince Zitiello in 3:38 to capture the school’s only championship at 106 pounds.

At 170 pounds, Lakewood’s Ralph Johnson was losing, when he reversed Bay’s Dom Ruma and caught and pinned him with 36 seconds to go in the match.

Another highlight of the tournament was Bay senior Joe Kubinski, who won the 152-pound weight class by major decision, 9-1, over Midview’s Kolby Hirschfelder to capture his 100th career victory.

Courtesy of Bubba Strauss

Team Results:

1) North Ridgeville    163.5

2) Avon                   159.5

3) Bay          156.5

4) Midview                 92

5) Elyria Catholic       88.5

6) Rocky River           81

7) Lakewood              60

8) Vermilion               27


Individual Results:

106 – FIRST: Aaron Kelly (RR) p. Vince Zitiello (Bay) Third: Frank Rizzo (Avon) d. Zach Carte (Midview) 2-1

113 – FIRST: Evan Collier (NR) p. Ben Tepper (BAY) 5:38. Third: Dan Mahoney (RR) m.d. Jason Grav (Midview) 11-1

120 – FIRST: Drew Dickson (NR) d. Adam Tepper (Bay) 10-6. THIRD: Brad Sprau (RR) p. Jack Gothier (Avon) 4:56

126 – FIRST: Max Kuchenrither (Avon) p. Justin Dodge (NR) 1:58. THIRD: Mason Harsar (EC) d. David Gadelsayed (RR) 7-1

132 – FIRST: Drew Schatz (Midview) p. Adam Kirresh (Avon) 1:43. THIRD: Sean Kilbane (EC) m.d. Sean Keg (NR) 19-7

138 – FIRST: Spencer Geil (Vermilion) d. Mark Campo (Avon) 3-0. THIRD: Brent Ningard (NR) d. Tony Lupico (Midview) 6-1

145 – FIRST: Jake Delorge (Avon) t.f. Ricky Gordi (NR) 17-1. THIRD: Seamus Kilbane (RR) p. Alex Fenner (Bay) 1:59

152 – FIRST: Joe Kubinski (Bay) m.d. Kolby Hirschfelder (Midview) 9-1. THIRD: Tommy Wendling (NR) Travis Leoplold (Avon) 11-6

160 – FIRST: Zach Framback (Midview) p. Jerrott Schill (EC) 3:53. THIRD: Colin Riley (NR) p. Sean Meaney (Bay) 2:07

170 – FIRST: Ralph Johnson (Lkwd) p. Dom Ruma (Bay) 5:24. THIRD: Brandon Blakely (Avon) m.d. Talon Dorton (NR) 10-1

182 – FIRST: Hamza Kirresh (Avon) m.d. Cody Wright (Bay) 17-7: THIRD: Zak Kulina (Lkwd) p. Jason Kolberg (RR) 1:26

195 – FIRST: Austin Kutcha (EC) m.d. Matt Spies (Bay) 20-11. THIRD: Emmanuel Lewis (Lkwd) d. Ryan Steinmentz (Avon) 5-4

220 – FIRST: Adam Kutcha (EC) p. Bill Kelly (RR) 1:36. THIRD: Joe Travagilante (Avon) d. Jessie Estep (Verm) 4-3

HVY – FIRST: Nick Bailey (NR) p. Matt Beniard (Bay) 0:58. THIRD: Alex Crammer (Avon) d. Roberto Sclimenti (Lkwd) 4-3




RSS Syndication