Lakewood OH
Partly sunny

Bob Theiss receives SWC Coaches Appreciation Award

Recently retired Bulldogs head wrestling coach Bill McGrain, right, presents former Olmsted Falls Athletic Director Bob Theiss the Southwestern Conference Coaches Appreciation Award during the SWC wrestling championships held at Olmsted Falls High School Feb. 2. (West Life photo by Pro Photography)

By Ryan Kaczmarski

Each year, the Southwestern Conference wrestling coaches present an appreciation and service award to a member who has been a contributor to SWC wrestling.

This year’s recipient was longtime Olmsted Falls High School Athletic Director Bob Theiss. In his 25-year tenure at OFHS, Theiss organized and directed more than 15 SWC championship tournaments, more than 20 Northeast Ohio sectional tournaments and more than 20 Olmsted Falls Open wrestling tournaments.

“Bob Theiss was instrumental with his insight and leadership in the development of SWC wrestling,” said Bill McGrain, the recently retired Olmsted Falls head wrestling coach. “He had so much pride in running events. It was not uncommon for him to help clean mats and he would sweep the bleachers on his own. His pride showed as his events were always first class.”

It was announced during the ceremony that Theiss had great insight as an athletic administrator, and his innovations and pride at running quality events set a solid foundation for SWC wrestling.

Former winners of the SWC Coaches Appreciation Award

2013: Bob Theiss (athletic director)

2012: John Ramsey (coach)

2011: Drew Pariano (three-time state champion and head coach of Northwestern University)

2010: Joe McFarland (two-time state champion and head coach of the University of Michigan)

2009: Alex Stepanovich (state champion and former Ohio State University and Cincinnati Bengals football player)

2008: Paul Reynolds (coach and official)

2007: Mike DeAnna (All-American and National Championship runner-up at the University of Iowa)

2006: Jake Percival (state champion, All-American and National Championship runner-up at Ohio University)

2005: Tom Bauer (official)

2004: Judy Asp (Elyria Chronicle-Telegram)

2003: Dave Barberic (tournament director)



RSS Syndication